Activities · Fiction · Self

Writing Prompt: The day the sky changed color

I planned to watch a film tonight. But I felt a sudden nudge to do something creative. Initially, I thought about something visual like maybe learning new website designing styles or doing collages online. After browsing this blog though, it came to me to just do a writing exercise. I remember back in (my couple of years in) college, if I didn’t have classes or homework to do, I would hibernate in the library or in second-hand book stores devouring books and old magazines about writing. Needless to say, I LOVED WRITING. I had an English creative writing phase (focused on essays) and a Filipino poetry writing phase. Same thing with the former, there was also a time when I would borrow books from the library and photocopy thick pages of Filipino poems. I loved those poems! They were so dear to me! They were alive beings! I also took various kinds of creative writing classes just for the love of it.

Anyway, back to the supposedly writing exercise for tonight – So I browsed for some writing prompts that I can use. I’m not really a fan of prompts because I would usually just stick to my own ideas and themes that I like to write about. But since I want to shake things up this time, I decided to pick a prompt and this is what I’ve chosen (I got this from Pinterest – Writers Write Creative Blog):

Write about the day the sky changed color.

And so it goes:

When the sky changed color I was  just about to go to school. I was eight then. I had short, curly, auburn hair. My mom would usually put a ribbon on top of it, into what you can call a half pony tail.

I would go to school by myself since it was just in the neighborhood. I had my briefcase and my teddy bear with me. I was wearing knee-high socks and black doll shoes that were always shiny.

At first I didn’t really notice the difference in the sky. What caught my attention were the people around me. Suddenly everyone was gathered in groups, all looking up. I started to walk slowly, instinctively protecting myself, I guess.

It took me a while before I could understand what’s going on. When I did, I couldn’t keep myself from looking up and gaping at what I saw.

The sky became electric bluish green with sparkles in it. They’re glittery heavenly bodies, but they’re definitely not stars. They looked more like those tiny bubbles coming up when you open a bottle of a carbonated drink. The sky, to me, looked like an upside-down aquarium of some sorts. It’s like the ocean was pulled up and inside-out.

I guess, most people expected that what’s gonna happen next was an alien invasion and nothing else.

To cut the story short, nothing new happened that day. The sky just remained in that color even until the evening, basically, until I slept at around 9 pm. I didn’t make it to my school that day, too. Teachers and parents were too scared to let kids out of their homes. My mom wasn’t. She’s just cool about things all the time. I don’t think I’ve ever seen her anxious.

When I woke up the next day, things started to get definitely weirder.

My mom showed scales on her arms and face but she didn’t seem to mind. For some reasons, she stopped talking, too – and mind you, my mom loved to talk and sing! As I walked towards the table while she was preparing breakfast, I noticed that my feet looked webbed like a reptile’s. I raised my hands up to my face and they too, were webbed!

Again, that didn’t seem to bother my mom. It’s as if there was nothing strange about it. I knew it was strange but I didn’t really feel horrified (which was a puzzle to me, of course). You could say that the changes, in fact, felt natural, as if I expected them to happen.

While I was eating my breakfast, I took a glance out the window. I saw that our neighbors have become reptile-looking creatures, too. Their skins were thick and scaly, they had webbed feet and bulging eyes. They all looked green.

I didn’t know what really happened and how could it happen. Our whole reality just changed that day and until now I still don’t know why. I don’t know if it’s ever gonna be back to how things were. In the meantime, I’m enjoying my new mermaid tail!

Leave a Reply

