Meeting my first Animal Guide

Meditation/Visions, The Self

As I was meditating with my partner last night (it wasn’t a couple’s meditation but we were listening to the same meditation guide at the same time), an animal come to me. It wasn’t really a meditation on meeting your spiritual guide/totem, it was more like an intention to connect to your divinity meditation. At first I couldn’t figure out the figure who was slowly coming out of the fire/curtains. Initially I thought it was an old man, like a shaman, a hermit. But then the figure slowly evolved and the image was complete.

A black panther appeared to me. He came as close as he can to my face and looked me straight in the eye. I knew it’s a “he” because I sensed the masculine energy. I asked him why did he appear to me. He communicated with me mentally and said that,

“You have made me come out. Now I am here. I’ll see you again.”

I had to say goodbye to him because the meditation already was coming to an end.

I never really felt the inspiration to research about animal guides, I never meditated on it. But I guess, I am in the right place and the right time for this connection. He came out to show himself to me no matter how elusive he was because he has the reason now to do that. Maybe what made him come out was my decision a couple of days ago to make my spiritual work a commitment, a life work. I have decided to make it a full time work and not just a hobby anymore. I told myself,

“This is it. I am gonna do it 365 days a year, 24/7, no matter what’s going on in my life. I am gonna add discipline to it. Just like work, I am gonna immerse myself on it despite being not in the mood to do it. I am gonna make time for it. I am gonna fight for all the solitude that I need to do it.”

This morning, I decided to meditate and meet him again to find out what he has to tell me. I found a meditation guide which helped me connect with him easily. This is how our encountered went:

I was in a rain forest. There was a short bridge in front of me and there was a thin river underneath it. The forest was misty and the trees were as tall as skyscrapers. I was sitting before the bridge and I sensed a black panther walking back and forth on the other side, impatient and nervous.

I slowly crossed the bridge. I was clothed in mist. As I arrived on the other side, I saw him sitting in front of me. I was sitting on the ground, too. We didn’t communicate for a while then he took me out for a walk.

I was walking side by side with him in the forest when he started speaking. He said:

Master your own mind. Go to the darkest, most unknown places and see what’s in there. When you do that, nothing can feel scary for you anymore. Memorize your mind like a maze. Your environment is a direct reflection of your own mind. So if you can master your own mind, you can master your environment. Do you know you can bend your world? Yes, you can. Everything around you is a projection of your mind. So if you know your own mind, you will understand more all the things in your environment. If you are familiar with your own shadows, you can recognize it more easily on others and you’ll know how to deal with them. What’s inside your own mind will be reflected on the objects, situations and people around you. So it’s gonna be better for you if you know your own mind. You can control your life in a way that will serve you. On the other hand, pay attention to your environment as well. They give clues as to what’s in your subconscious. This is not about competition. This is not about being better than others. This is about participation. Participate in the process of creation, of creating worlds. Solitude may be a strange thing. But you have to know it’s value if you want to pursue this path of mastering your own mind. Let solitude fill you.

Then we had to part ways. The meditation ended.

I feel so comforted and supported, grateful for this huge help that has come my way. A new gate has opened because I have become prepared to go through it. The Black Panther is the perfect animal guide for me at this time because I had to be brave, strong and wise in this journey that for the most part, I’ll be doing on my own.

Leave a Reply

