People · Relationships · Self

Home

It is easy to take our loved ones for granted when so many things are going on in our lives.

It’s easy to look past them and forget about them when we’re busy building our lives and/or having fun. But when we finally realize that our careers won’t be there for us when we’re sick or lonely, and when the party is over and the lights are finally out, we will then be confronted with the truth that who we will be looking for are those we feel at home with.

When we feel alone and exhausted all we want is to go back home and feel loved, safe and understood.

That’s the difference love makes. It’s easy to have fun and excitement with most people, unless you’re anti-social. But feeling at home with someone is a rare, precious thing. It’s a mixture of both natural chemistry and commitment. Thrill and danger and freshness may be fun most times, but at the end of the day, everybody still wants some place to go home to with someone they love and who loves them. It’s just the way it is.

I am currently in a long distance relationship with someone I have met 18 months ago. We had only been together for more or less 13 hours and we haven’t been together again since (but we’re seeing each other again in ten weeks, FINALLY!). There’s a lot of space for misunderstandings and jealousy in our situation. I am very much aware that he can get attracted to someone and that someone can get attracted to him, he is an amazing guy after all. Who wouldn’t want him?

But on top of all my fears and worries is my faith in our deep connection. No one can replace me in his life because what he has with me can never be replicated (nor improved) with anyone else. His body, heart and spirit is at home with me as I am at home with him.

I trust that fact with my whole heart. That truth will guide his thoughts, decisions and actions. I know he knows he belongs with me. It’s a truth that is reaffirmed over and over again, strengthening us individually and together as partners.

Leave a Reply

